Lent 5

I’m afraid I read all of these week’s lections and went, ‘no, really, I don’t think I have anything to say here’. Consequently I am quizzing people about what other topics I should tackle; but it seems silly to give up here and I will keep on going until Easter. Maybe at least that story will have some inspiration in it!

Gospel: John 12:20-33.

Some of this seems okay. “…unless a grain of wheat falls into the earth and dies, it remains just a single grain; but if it dies, it bears much fruit.” This symbolism is familiar to me, at least, and although I’m not sure about the implications (am I the sower, letting go of the grain of wheat I have now for more in the future, or the wheat itself, dying to create fruit? Since human reproduction doesn’t generally work like that, the latter has to be a metaphor but it’s not quite clear for what. Or is it my ego which is the grain of wheat? This starts to sound more Buddhist quite quickly).

The next bit sounds horrible, though. “Those who love their life lose it, and those who hate their life in this world will keep it for eternal life.” If you turn this into instructions, how does it come out? On no account like your life, because if you do you’ll lose it; but try not to mean it, because if you genuinely dislike your life, you’ll be cursed with one into eternity – which you will, presumably, hate as a result.

Then we’re back to something which, although logistically odd if taken too literally, doesn’t sound too bad: “Whoever serves me must follow me, and where I am, there will my servant be also. Whoever serves me, the Father will honour.

Leave a Reply

