S is for… Silence

As a Quaker, silence is important to me; not for its own sake (it seems to me that physical silence is useful but not actually required in the practice of Quaker worship) but as part of a practice of inward listening, waiting, and stillness.

It’s not something which is often found in Pagan rituals – if it is, it’s often labelled ‘meditation’, and is, by Quaker standards, rather short. At home alone, I don’t feel the need to conciously include it in my rituals, either, because silence is the natural state in which I exist unless I choose to break it (or choose to use something – the TV, music, the telephone – to break it).

Leave a Reply

