L is for… Leaves

I remember that when I was a Brownie, one of our games was Leaf Identification. It was just a set of cards, really, with names and pictures; a bit old-fashioned by the time I got there, not popular, not often played. I was fascinated, though. My father had already given me a good eye for the kinds of details you need to look for in plant identification (he’s a zoologist, but it’s easier to teach children on plants, which don’t run or fly away). The cards and their presence at Brownies suggested, though, that memorising such things was a worthwhile pastime.

Knowledge and observation are for me foundations of nature-centred spirituality. (Not just for me: read Lupa’s description of meeting Black Morel Fungus Totem, “After triple-checking their identity…”) I do not always have the knowledge I would like, but I do have Google and I know how to use it. I don’t always have time to make the observations I would like, but I try and know my local area – plants, animals, and landscape – as well as I can.

In the meantime, here are some leaves. For identification resources, try Nature Detectives or The Trees and Shrubs Website.

Leave a Reply

