C is for… Chanting

In both Paganism and Buddhism, one of my favourite things to do is to chant. I enjoy singing, but am not good enough to get my head around anything very complex; the simplicity and repetition of a chant is just at my level. Here are a few of the ones I like best.

She Changes Everything She Touches – a classic by Starhawk. I first heard this when I was with a group of Quakers and we bumped into a group of American Wiccan woman in West Kennet Long Barrow. It’s an amazing place to sing, spiritually as well as acoustically.

Om Tare Tuttare Ture Soha – Tibetan Buddhist mantra for the Bodhisattva Tara. This is one of many versions on YouTube, but the one I actually listen to at home is Steven Halpern’s version.

We Are The Old People – simple lyrics by Morning Feather and Will Shepardson make a strong chant.

Ubi Caritas – a Christian chant, from the Taize community, with simple lyrics.

May The Circle Be Open But Unbroken – a very well known and widely used chant. My favourite recording is on the Findhorn Foundation’s CD, Garden of the Goddess.

Leave a Reply

